Other

Insecurity and Popularity Problems

There are seven wonders of the world; the Great Pyramids of Giza, the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the Lighthouse at Alexandria.
However there is one wonder thought to be even more wondrous than those listed, yet it never received a mention and that is; “popular” people.

“Who are these people?”, I hear you ask. Well popular, by definition means: “liked or admired by many people or by a particular person or group”. Although I think that this needs altering. Massively.

You see, there are people at my school that are classified by almost everyone as “popular”; yet no one knows how this came about, and it seems to be that the whole school knows who they are, whatever year they are in.

Was there some sort of meeting between them? When did they decide to wear matching clothes and look exactly like each other? It’s all so mystical.

To be honest it’s not like the constant cloning makes them anymore liked; putting it nicely, it ridicules them.

I actually find it hilarious walking into school and seeing a group of squawking teenagers with their long brown/blonde hair scrunched up into the tightest top knot known to man, faces dripping with orange make up and wearing a skirt verging on belt. It’s embarrassing.

This is not the only reason why people don’t get along with them.

I personally think that it is hard to hold an actual conversation with one of them, and, in all honesty, I feel like sometimes they need to be seen and not heard (unless you like to want to know about pubic hair and genital problems on a Monday morning) (I know I don’t).

It’s also hard to hold a conversation with one of them when their only interests are a) partying, b) drinking c) smoking and d) being too hot to speak to anyone. I just don’t understand it. Why do you live your life to get wasted every Friday night after school? You’re fifteen for goodness sake!

Not only this but I also get the feeling that whenever I talk to/have an encounter with them they totally judge what I say, the things I do, and the things I wear. It’s awful.

Yet here’s the strange thing, I don’t care if other people judge me, make fun out of me, whatever. However, when it comes from that group of “popular” people, I feel like it does matter, when it shouldn’t.

Additionally, I feel like they get a kick out of laughing and pointing out people’s flaws for the sake of their own amusement. I said this before, but even though it shouldn’t matter, it still does. They are society royalty. Their opinion determines the people that like you, the clubs you enter, the list is endless.

It’s hard to put into context the way that girls like me feel day in and day out. Personally, I would say that it’s like walking down a street, however everywhere you look there is a very attractive, slim person staring at you, laughing with their friends, pointing at you. Except, this isn’t just a one time occurrence; it happens wherever you walk, and no matter how hard you try, the sniggering, the constant staring, won’t go away. You begin to doubt the way you look, every little insecurity is now in the open, and you are ten times more self conscious that you had been previously.

How unconfident are you going to feel? Answer: very. Yet this is something that occurs more often than it should, and, has major recuperations.

So how are they “popular”? They are clearly not liked, that’s for sure. I think what makes them so great, I suppose, is the fact that they talk to all of the good looking boys (#prayforsofia), they are all skinny, pretty and have a good following on social media (because that’s what everyone should really aim towards). So this is why, I think, they are classified as “popular”.

It’s actually pretty funny; the older generation don’t really understand “cliques” and different social groups; why we probably judge ourselves more that our peers do. I can actually answer this; we can’t help ourselves. It can take days, months, years for someone to start feel comfortable in their body, and it can take one person to turn round, point and laugh at your stomach, thighs, legs, for all of your confidence to shatter into tiny pieces. This also doesn’t help with the constant comparisons between certain people, in particular; celebrities. The constant reminder that having plastic surgery and using photoshop is okay, and, quite frankly, normal.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m not against surgery, tattoos and photoshop if that is what makes you happy. But what I do not understand is why people feel the need to be embarrassed about their appearance, and be so embarrassed that they are willing to permanently alter it in some way. Even though I can understand; there have been days where I’ve really wanted to get rid of my nose and go Kim Kardashian style; but in reality I think I’m happy with what I have; all of my features, big and small, make up me, my personality and have been there since I was small.

Everyone is perfect the way that they are, regardless of weight and body size; everyone is different. Don’t be a clone, you may be content, but at the end of the day you’re cheating yourself.

Just remember: don’t let anyone laugh at you in a mean and spiteful way and get away with it.

Best wishes,

Sofia

3 thoughts on “Insecurity and Popularity Problems

Leave a Reply

