Stories

Rejection 

Rejection happens to the best of us: J.K. Rowling was rejected multiple times before Harry Potter was finally published, Kanye West was rejected by Kim a couple of times before finally going out with her and becoming one of the greatest power couples of all time (yes, I just wrote that) and I, one of the funniest and beautiful people in the world, have been rejected many a time too. However, sadly, I haven’t had my happy and wealthy ending yet. Yet.

Now, I know you are wondering, what has spurred this on? Well, to whom it may concern, I have been rejected quite recently and so I need to feel a little sorry for myself, dragging you down with me.

At the beginning of the year my friend Amy compiled a bucket list for 2016 that we were to supposed to complete and tick off by December. I have only done 3 of the 30 things on the list because I literally have no time in between finishing seasons of TV programs in no more than one week, and school. One example on the list is to “do a triathlon”, and I’m sorry, but that one is pretty much physically impossible for me. I am also not prepared for that much of a commitment to being healthy and keeping fit. Fine, I could eat a few apples, more fruit, blah blah blah. But no, I cannot work out every other day in preparation for this. I have people to talk to, fridges to empty, a bed to sleep in- the best bits of having no life.

Anyway…

There is another on the list “go on a date.” (already quite challenging seeing as I know no persons of the opposite sex) Great. However I think I have already been the closest I will ever be to ticking that one off the box. Which is miraculous.

It all happened at school (obviously in between lessons who do you think I am) (…) and I was chatting to my friend, Grace, who has a boyfriend named Dan. I’m going to be honest here, I am pretty desperate, (Why else would I write a blog post on this) (I also go to an all-girls school what do you expect) so for this reason I usually joke around (that’s what people think) and that day I mentioned going on a double date with her and Dan, to which she immediately accepted.

She spoke to him and they chose someone. Everything was on the up: I was going to get a boyfriend/ speak to a guy out of choice. Grace forwarded me photos of him and vice versa. All looking good, and that was just him… I was then forced to text him, which was, not going to lie, pretty awkward, but I handled it like a pro. Then we had lunch.

We were in the canteen eating the school’s bland and oily chicken korma, (delicious) when my friend received a text from this guy saying that he wasn’t interested and was planning on seeing someone else after his exams. Wow. This was after he replied to my text which was, by the way, “Hey this is Sofia, Grace’s friend” I perhaps should have been more exotic, but I had no idea what to say to a person I have never met before.

That’s the end.

This has probably been a big anticlimax for you, I feel the same way, so for that I apologise that you had to endure on reading this for about 3 minutes or however long it took you to get to this disappointing part of the story. In hindsight this post may have been more exciting if we actually went on the date together and it failed, or if when we met the guy turned out to be an arse, but that didn’t happen (sadly/happily).

What happened is that I was angry that I put my hopes up, thought that it would pan out. Of course it didn’t. The whole thing was a miscommunication, which is fine, yet really annoying.

So the moral of this story is that life is a bit crap at times, and it probably won’t go the way that you want it to go, which means that rejection, rubbish and boring stories are okay and are nothing to be afraid of (unless you are the one listening to the story in which case, run away as fast as you possibly can)

*Oh and one last thing- don’t let your friends send photos of you to potential boyfriends

 

Best wishes,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

