Lists

Things I Do And What They *Actually* Mean

Hey guys,

How’s it going?

I have conducted a list of particular things that I do and the real reasons why I do them.

Please enjoy ūüôā


  • Yawning

What people think it means: I am bored.

What it actually means: I am incredibly sleep deprived and am finding it very difficult to stay awake. At times it could mean that I am bored, which is why you may often catch my mouth gaping maths.


  • Rolling my eyes

What people think it means: I am being rude.

What it actually means: I have had enough of your bs/ mockery and I am being rude.


  • Laughing

What people think it means: I find something funny.

What it actually means: I probably don’t find something funny and am sparing your feelings by pretending that your god awful joke is the optimum of hilarity, when in actual fact my dog could make me laugh more. Or I find something actually funny, in which case you would know.


  • I am being weirdly quiet

What people think it means: I am an introvert.

What it actually means: I don’t feel fully comfortable in your presence to unleash my full potential (which is huge btw) and¬†so I am¬†being incredibly socially awkward.


  • I am being super hyper

What people think it means: I am weird.

What it actually means: It is really early in the morning, I have eaten too many sweets or both. (Usually both)


  • I am not dancing

What people think it means: I am shy.

What it actually means: I am embarrassed, awkward and my friends aren’t with me so I feel insecure.


  • I say that I don’t mind what¬†[we]¬†eat

What people think it means: I am indecisive.

What it actually means: I am too hungry to care where we go and what we shove in our mouths, meaning that I don’t care what we eat and how we end up there.


  • I am busy

What people think it means: I am busy.

What it actually means: I am busy doing nothing. (Or I am actually busy)


  • I am not texting back

What people think it means: They have done something wrong, that I am busy or that I am being impolite..

What it actually means: I have forgotten to reply and feel too ashamed to text back when I remember that I have received a message Рwhich is a crap excuse.


  • I wake up late

What people think it means: I am being *insert middle aged mum voice* a typical teenager.

What it actually means: FUCJINHG SLEEP DEPRIVATION


  • Talking about weather

What people think it means: I am enduring small-talk.

What it actually means: What people think it means.


  • Going on Buzzfeed quizzes

What people think it means: I am immature.

What it actually means: I am bored out of my mind and so I need to know what type of bread I am based on my Disney preferences. It is necessary.


  • Naming my cacti

What people think it means: I am fucking weird.

What it actually means: I have friends.


  • I have glasses

What people think it means: I am intelligent¬†and¬†really blind – so blind that I can’t see people’s fingers

What it actually means: I don’t have ’20/20′ vision. (Please can someone burn that phrase. Much thank.)


  • Hiding in my house when someone knocks on the door

What people think it means: I am doing work.

What it actually means: I am terrified of interacting with real people and don’t want to force contact with other beings for a couple of seconds/ minutes/ hours/ days. Or that I am half way through an episode of something and I cba to open the door to the Amazon delivery guy.


  • Eating a lot

What people think it means: I have a problem

What it actually means: I like food (and I probably have a problem)


  • I don’t cry much

What people think it means: I am strong.

What it actually means: I supress my emotions and am wasting away inside.


  • Swearing a lot

What people think it means: I have a potty mouth and that I need to eat a bar of soap (my mum actually made me do that once)

What it actually means: I stubbed a part of my body against a sharp object and I need to let out my pain in an effective way.


  • Going to career fairs at school

What people think it means: I am really organised.

What it actually means: I have no idea what I’m doing with my life and will die in poverty if I don’t sort it our soon-ish.


  • Doing exercise

What people think it means: I am really healthy.

What it actually means: I broke another floorboard.


I hope that you all have a great week.

 

Best wishes,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

